a woven life

a parenting and lifestyle blog

Photography Styling Challenge|Light

12 Comments

PSC10 Light

 

My home is situated east/west. With so many south facing windows. How lucky we are, to be so engulfed in light.

For this month’s challenge I wanted to capture moments where the light in my home is most warming: morning and evening, east and west.

It was so clever of M, the brains behind this challenge, to utilize light as our theme for April, as Spring is unfurling. Such appropriate timing.

We will begin in the east:

You can become blind by seeing each day as a similar one. Each day is a different one, each day brings a miracle of its own. It’s just a matter of paying attention to this miracle.

-Paolo Coehlo

The morning is my favorite time. My husband leaves early for work (before 5am early), and if I can get myself out of bed by 5:30, I am rewarded with restorative alone time. I hydrate, read something inspiring (so hooked on Saint Teresa of Avila) by the light of the laundry room, and wait for the birds to sing. By the time daylight breaks, I am caffeinating, waking baby, and in good shape for the day. If I can’t get myself out of bed, the baby dingo wakes me and we start the morning together. Win win.

Sunsrise Banana

Day break.

Sunrise Grolsch

Sun rising.

 

Sunrise Stones

Mid-morn.

The sun travels the length of our house: kitchen, dining room, living room, porch. Our day follows it. Morning in the kitchen, pre-afternoon playing and chores centered in the dining/sewing room, post-lunch in the living room, afternoon on the porch or in the yard.

The sun sets in the west:

Sunset Buddha

Pouring in.

Sunset Curtains

Enclosed, warm.

It is possible that we spend our days chasing light.

For more:

Author: Nicole

Hi there. My name is Nicole and I have an affinity for fiber art and home grown everything. I am a mother, seamstress, maker; so on and so forth. I'm here to share my escapades in sewing, parenting, and sometimes marriage (and infrequently, knitting). You can reach me at Nicolesheree@gmail.com. G'day.

12 thoughts on “Photography Styling Challenge|Light

  1. I love your whimsical shots, Nicole. You have a keen eye. The warm shot of the drapes and bed spread is just heavenly!

    • Hi Anjana. I always look forward to you stopping by. The bedroom shot is my favorite time of day in that room. It’s hard to close the curtains to the light but it filters so nicely and sets a wonderful stage for a prayer or meditation.

  2. A wonderful interpretation of the theme, and I love your writing that always accompanies your photographs. The banana and the wire basket has got to be my favourite. Well done! x

  3. Beautiful post Nicole! My favourites are the ‘Day break’ and ‘Pouring in’! Very original!

  4. Hey Nicole, nice use of natural light here. I like the first photo with the shadow of the banana. There’s just something so interesting about it. Love your writing as well, baby dingo. Ha ha.

  5. What a beautifully captured theme, Nicole :). I loved the fact that you captured the moments at different times of the day. The sun rising and Pouring in are my favorite! Though the first one has a mysterious charm to it :).

  6. natural light is the best light – and you are so lucky to be having so much light inside the home.
    Loved all the shots – the day break a favorite – because of the light, the shadow it cast and the fruit in the basket.

    • Thank you, Samta. I appreciate you stopping by to take a peek. I can’t get enough of the day break photo either, or that time of day really.

  7. I love the way light engulfs everything in the fifth pic. But the one with the bottles is the best! I have always been fascinated by how colored bottles act as reflectors and this is a good example of that! 🙂 Beautiful, Nicole!

  8. “The brains behind this challenge” LOL. You give me too much credit for the perfect timing of Light in the month of April. I think it was all just coincidental when I created the themes. I envy all the natural light flowing through your home and the interesting accessories with which you are able to shoot. ~M.

Leave a comment