a woven life

a parenting and lifestyle blog

Work space and a plea.

Leave a comment

Fellow bloggers, sewers, pinners, friends, family, and readers (that is all of you, right?),

I would be so glad for your help. I can not bring myself to run one more search. I have exhausted the search bar and now I am hoping we can tackle this thing together head on. I want to make baby dingo a first birthday outfit. My thought process, bear with me:

I want to sew a sweet bubble romper to emphasize that this baby is still my baby despite teetering on the brink of toddlerdom. A gender neutral romper it is!

On second thought: let’s celebrate Oren’s entrance into manhood. I will sew him an adorable tunic and short combo.

Well..Maybe we could meet in the middle and I could make him some short-alls or a bubble-less romper..Then again, with the crawling maybe this would trip him up..unless they came way above the knee..better just stick with short/tunic combo.

Alas, there is nary a tunic pattern that is speaking to me (or available in size small enough for dingo….am I willing to wing it?).

Perhaps a retro button down with piping?

And what of the shorts? Pockets? For a one year old? Silly. But surely..birthday shorts need something special..right?

I have a couple of weeks to figure this out. And the whole night before his birthday to sew. I implore you to release upon me your secret archive of favorite boy sewing patterns. Even better, baby boy sewing patterns. (Ahem..maybe we could even refine this a bit more and add that sewing patterns with crawlers in mind would be amazing). Maybe you could even share your own projects?

To top it off! A new addition to my work corner has been brought into our house. We live in a college town, so the August 1 to August 1 lease is fairly common for rental properties. This translates to copious amounts of free, albeit questionable, furniture littering the streets around this time of year as moving takes place. The thoughtful Michael, ever thinking of his wife, drug in a bookshelf off the streets on his way back from a run. It beats sure tops my previous storage solution of bags and boxes. So the updated work space:

I thank you in advance for any insight you may offer up here. And as always, for reading and following.

With gratitude,

Nicole

Author: Nicole

Hi there. My name is Nicole and I have an affinity for fiber art and home grown everything. I am a mother, seamstress, maker; so on and so forth. I'm here to share my escapades in sewing, parenting, and sometimes marriage (and infrequently, knitting). You can reach me at Nicolesheree@gmail.com. G'day.

Leave a Reply

