a woven life

a parenting and lifestyle blog

This morning:

Leave a comment

It has been rain for days around here. And chill. To be honest, it was really wonderful to put an extra layer on. I was so fooled by the weather two days ago that I had to sew some upcycled pumpkin orange sweater pants for the bub this fall. Upon waking today and seeing that the house was filled with strange light (sunlight), our family bounded at the opportunity for a garden visit. All of the rain sure has been appreciated. We will have to treat our tomatoes for blight again, since soil has been splashed onto the leaves and stems of the plant. Some morning surprises from the garden.

Alas! The melons are in! We have no way of knowing how many we have without tromping through the brambled jungle that is melon patch. On the periphery we have counted four. There are surely more lurking. I can almost hear them. We will eventually have to go in, seeking out their numbers in order to “throne” them. One gardening book we keep coming back to for advice recommends placing the melons on miscellaneous items to get them off the ground. So we shall.

We are going to have tomatoes coming out of our ears, if the gods see fit that no creature consumes them first. I will sleep in a folding chair under a mosquito net to protect them from the dark forces of rodentry. The zucchini is doing so so very well. We are pleasantly surprised. Two more large zuch’s almost ready to be picked, and numerous newly sprouted babies. The tomato plants are constantly threatening to topple. Next year we will definitely be rigging our own supports, or just purchasing heavy duty and huge cages. The tiny cages we invested in are the laughing stock of our tomatoes. They taunt the thin metal supports. We’ve made due with sticks and twine. It is working, so far.

I’m not sure if it is kosher for me to post photos of our neighbor’s plots. But some of them are yielding such lovely crop that I simply can not resist. So in the name of recognizing that this me be a faux pas, I will carry forth.

In other life updates, yesterday I created some puree for dingo. Now, the man has been on finger foods for quite some time. He even used a fork today for the first time! He gleefully ate peaches after I skewered them. However, since being sick he’s not been too interested in eating anything but toast, yogurt, and scrambled eggs. So, we backtracked to some purees to sneak vegetation back into his system. I’m going to foolishly label this concoction “Seaweed Pesto”.  IMG_3578

I pureed a half sheet of dried Nori, steamed broccoli, green peas, one banana, and some strawberries for good measure. I used the reserve steaming water from the broccoli as my liquid. The flavor? Not bad. It tastes sweet, and well, green. Quite a bit like spirulina, I dare say. I’ve been spreading it on toast and mixing it into yogurt. The little gentleman gobbles it right down, despite having recently acquired a disdain for soggy breads.

And here are the cozy pumpkin pants for fall.

IMG_3571

Is there anything softer than slightly felted wool? Bring on the fall. I am so ready. A bit of a hint: I am crafting something to (possibly) give-away soon. Very soon. Stay posted.

Good day, reader.

Author: Nicole

Hi there. My name is Nicole and I have an affinity for fiber art and home grown everything. I am a mother, seamstress, maker; so on and so forth. I'm here to share my escapades in sewing, parenting, and sometimes marriage (and infrequently, knitting). You can reach me at Nicolesheree@gmail.com. G'day.

Leave a Reply

