a woven life

a parenting and lifestyle blog

Zucchini feet and fever dreams.

Leave a comment

The baby grub is sick. For the first time. He made it almost a whole year without so much as a sniffle. He’s been running a fever for days. At times it crept so high as to cause absolute panic. We called the doctor three times yesterday. After another rough day today and a visit to the doc’s, we’ve decided on something viral. Poor fellow. All hot bodied and lethargic. Sleepy around the clock. So much so, that for the first time (e.v.e.r.) he laid down on the floor and put himself to sleep for a nap. How can I make this part of this illness stay?

Anywho, we’ve made it ’round the bend. He ate most of the beans from my bowl for dinner. He even spent enough time between fever spikes for us to run down to the garden. So this post, I suppose, is regarding the garden and the parenting. Speaking of which, I never thought we’d given Oren juice so soon. And despite these past few days being a straight nurse-a-thon, we were desperate to pump him full of fluids. So. Pricey, low sugar, vegetable blend hoighty-toity “apple harvest” apple juice, it was. Desperate times call for juice. And the Magic School Bus, which we watched.

Ogie-Bogue, feeling better, heading to the garden.

Ogie-Bogue, feeling better, heading to the garden.

Since we started gardening, not a single trip to the plots has found me without shrieks of excitement. It is such a mood lifter to go be with the plants, tend them, collect their fruits. Our Lemon Boy tomato plant has no fewer than 14 tomatoes. Our other tomato plant has around 10 fruits. We pulled another zucchini off the plant and the melons are still trying to tear down the house next door, they sprawl so quickly and with such ferocity. Also, a butterfly, flowering basil, and beans.

Aside from these things, I’ve been knitting washcloths. Guys, I could knit a thousand washcloths, if only the pattern didn’t have it out for me. Yes, I’m here to admit that a 3×3 rib knit is causing me to pull my hair out. Somehow, stitches get added, the pattern gets off, I can’t tell what is what. I’ve ripped the stitches off the hook and started over three times. I’ve just decided that this current cloth is for us to keep in our home. I can devote serious concentration to others at a further date. But really, how much concentration can rib knit require? I should just stick to my “free form” bastardized knitting. It works for me. Blankets and scarves forever.

Bonus: Sauerkraut.IMG_3528

As I’m sure you can guess, the instructions for this kraut are such: throw some cabbage in brine. Let it sit. Make sure no cabbage is touching air, that it is all sufficiently brine-covered. That is as tutorial-ish as that is going to get.

I appreciate that you are reading this. So. Much. I just had to check in with you.

 

 

Author: Nicole

Hi there. My name is Nicole and I have an affinity for fiber art and home grown everything. I am a mother, seamstress, maker; so on and so forth. I'm here to share my escapades in sewing, parenting, and sometimes marriage (and infrequently, knitting). You can reach me at Nicolesheree@gmail.com. G'day.

Leave a Reply

