a woven life

a parenting and lifestyle blog

More about turnips.

Leave a comment

I hope your weekend was well, I’ve been informed it is Monday. The turnips continue to flood into our home. We pulled three more today (monstrous!). Michael had a hard time getting home wearing the baby on his front and hauling this mass of vegetables. The turnips themselves are softball sized. Impressive. But then there is the conundrum of what to do with all of the perfectly edible and potently nutritious greens (I mean, vitamins A,C,E,K, Folate, Calcium…). We have roughly 4 pounds of turnip greens in house right now. Thankfully, they are storing very well in our fridge’s crisper. While we are big fans of sauteed greens (bacon grease and peanuts, mmmm), my favorite method for consuming any kind of hearty green is to bake them.

I bring you, a review of “turnip chips”. All in all, baked turnip greens have a very flaky texture that is rather addicting. The flavor is slightly astringent. I was not so convinced by the internet that turnip foliage was edible, because upon tearing into pieces and massaging with oil, one encounters numerous small spines.

Image

But I assure you, upon cooking, these pokies magically disappear. Overall, baked turnip greens make for a salty and undeniably satisfying snack. But in the world of baked greens, kale is champion. The texture of the leaves holds out better to baking. So. You’ve got some greens gettin’ sad in your crisper? Ensure they’re clean and super dry. Give ’em a rub down in some olive oil. Salt them lightly. This is the important part: ensure that when you place them on a baking sheet, you do so in one layer. Guaranteed crisp. I find that turnip greens need less time in the oven than kale, about 10-15 minutes at 250ish degrees.

Image

Image

Even the baby loves them.

Time to kick back, drink a glass of red, and listen to those cicadas. Happy summer, indeed.

Author: Nicole

Hi there. My name is Nicole and I have an affinity for fiber art and home grown everything. I am a mother, seamstress, maker; so on and so forth. I'm here to share my escapades in sewing, parenting, and sometimes marriage (and infrequently, knitting). You can reach me at Nicolesheree@gmail.com. G'day.

Leave a Reply

