a woven life

a parenting and lifestyle blog

July 20.

3 Comments

I led you to believe that this post would be titled “The Infestation: Part Two”. I assumed that I would be raging on about our flea problem for weeks. Alas, everything seems under control. George has been successfully Frontlined, bathed, combed dozens of times, and left outside long enough for the topical flea killer to take hold. Nary a flea has been spotted indoors. The poor thing; such a beautifully fluffy beast, reduced to a mewling and growling Gollum of a creature in the bathtub. All is well.

For those of us in the Kansas/Missouri area, how lovely is it to wake to a morning of light rain and rolling thunder? Couple that with a babbling baby petting your face and I’d call it ideal. I rolled out of bed and promptly hit the sewing machine to finish up a quilting project. Michael and Dubbie hit the kitchen for dishes and coffee, their wake-up routine. Some splashing in the rain/mud and french toast later and it is already time for nap #1 of the day. Where does the morning go, I ask? 

Photo courtesy of Michael Van Walleghem

At the garden, we discovered that our one zucchini had doubled in size, reaching an impressive 12 inches in length. We were so thrilled. We carried it home, a trophy of summertime victory. The plant has sprouted 4 more baby zucchini’s and our tomatoes appear recovered from the blight. And the lima beans! Oh! The beans. How much they grow. Each plant seems to sprout four more pods every day. We should probably look into harvesting procedure here. The melon vines are escaping our garden bed and are headed straight for new territory. Wryly things. Next year we will not have room for melons, so I’m glad we are giving it a go this round. 

The patch in the middle is the melon as of four days ago. Yesterday, it had completely taken over most of this area and is quickly exiting the bed. If I sat long enough, I’m sure I could witness it’s tendrils unfurl and reach for new anchoring. 

The next post will be overflowing with sewing goodness, it’s busy around here in that regard. If the sun comes out today, I may even get some decent photos and make it a two-for-one blog sort of day. I am hoping to do a bit of a face lift around these parts, your feedback is so welcome. I leave you with my baby boy. This is one of the last decent photos I got of him sitting still. As for the photo quality discrepancy, this was shot with grandpa’s camera, a Nikon Cool Pix. Not to to make my own camera feel ashamed (because if it bites the dust now, I’m out of luck). I’ve been committing precious evening hours to reading it’s manual and actually learning how to utilize some of it’s features. Let’s make this a better experience for everyone, eh? 

Happy weekend, darlings.

 

Author: Nicole

Hi there. My name is Nicole and I have an affinity for fiber art and home grown everything. I am a mother, seamstress, maker; so on and so forth. I'm here to share my escapades in sewing, parenting, and sometimes marriage (and infrequently, knitting). You can reach me at Nicolesheree@gmail.com. G'day.

3 thoughts on “July 20.

  1. I just made this bean dish that will knock your socks off. I’m starting the bread…EEEEKK

  2. drop me your mailing addy at my University e-mail and I’ll see if I can get a small box of fabric goodness to you. My mom is a quilter and has literally (don’t drool) rooms full of fabric. So glad to see you’re doing well on so many fronts.

    • Gush. Thank you Jennifer. And thanks for reading. What a pleasant surprise to see a comment from you here! I’ll get that address right your way.

      (namaste).

Leave a Reply

