a woven life

a parenting and lifestyle blog

Where I am:

Leave a comment

Physically: On the couch, with a napping baby sighing his dreams into my armpit.

Mentally: Preoccupied with the idea of creating for public consumption.

Dreaming of: Melons actually growing in our garden. They are such a beautiful variety, Moon and Stars they are called. Also, a retreat. I need some soul time.

Wondering: How it is possible for Michael to retrieve everything on the list except the necessities (batteries for my camera and ice cream).

Debating: On what to do when this nap ends. Take a trot to the garden? Put away the laundry? Dance to our favorite record? Dishes? Chase the cat down? Slap the bass? Hunt flies? All of the above.

Disappointed: That the onesies I just dyed have suffered some discoloration from sitting folded near the window. Sigh.

Hoping: For the courage to undertake a new and big project, one that completely alters the reasons I make (and also leaves me feeling vulnerable and self-conscious).

Reading: The Handmade Pantry  and loving it. We don’t know if we should tackle jam, marshmallows, or vanilla extract first. Probably jam, more on that to come.

Loving: That Michael and I have been camping out in the living room, sleeping on blankets. Gotta change it up sometimes.

Emotionally: Pretty sentimental about absolutely everything. Especially this photo I unearthed of baby doug’s cloth diaper stash from his tiny days. (Not to mention how orderly they are, oh that nesting). The size of that orange Thirstie’s cover confirms my suspicions that he is growing entirely too quickly.

Covers and prefolds

And this photo:

261443_1333499499949_898981_n

The scrubby otter-mustachioed man is my husband. Two of the gentlemen in this photo are teaching in South Korea, and we’ve been missing them terribly at our dinner table. Yet another man photoed is leaving us for graduate studies in a different state. Was this really two years ago that we were all on a mountain together? The sentimentals, I tell ya.

Until next time, when my camera is not dead and I have photos from the now.

Author: Nicole

Hi there. My name is Nicole and I have an affinity for fiber art and home grown everything. I am a mother, seamstress, maker; so on and so forth. I'm here to share my escapades in sewing, parenting, and sometimes marriage (and infrequently, knitting). You can reach me at Nicolesheree@gmail.com. G'day.

Leave a Reply

