a woven life

a parenting and lifestyle blog

A new home.

Leave a comment

For my sewing machine. Wait. Make that, my new sewing machine. I got a new sewing machine. Michael caught me by pleasant surprise and secretly ordered me a new Brother Cs-600i for my birthday. Which is in October. I’m feeling rather doted upon. Given that I have been sewing on the very same machine I learned how to sew upon (12 years ago),  and given that I had not kept up on the maintenance that was deserved, well, it was time for a new machine. I’ve been saying this for 2 years. And ta-da!

IMG_3297

 

I am happier than a pig in shit, to quote a friend. Sixty stitches! Seven different feet! A double needle (what do I even do with that?)! It’s intimidating to even touch and I’ve been sewing with the manual next to me as if I’ve never laid hand on a machine before. Some more about this space:

I adore this spool organizer, a thrifted find. And knitting needles, because if they aren’t in my face I’ll never use them.

IMG_3300

 

 

I had spent so much time hauling my sewing machine from a closet to the dining room table when inspiration struck. This made sewing way too much of a hassle. When this beater desk appeared in my life, we did some rearranging and voila, like magic, I have my own sewing space for the first time in my life.

IMG_3302

 

I leave you with a surprise from our garden this morning. Our turnips are ready for the pulling! We are so pleased. We are off in search of the best bagel in Lawrence. Any advice?

Happy weekend.

Author: Nicole

Hi there. My name is Nicole and I have an affinity for fiber art and home grown everything. I am a mother, seamstress, maker; so on and so forth. I'm here to share my escapades in sewing, parenting, and sometimes marriage (and infrequently, knitting). You can reach me at Nicolesheree@gmail.com. G'day.

Leave a Reply

