a woven life

a parenting and lifestyle blog

Coming forth.

1 Comment

Whew. I’m so relieved the introduction is by the wayside. Now we can talk meat, bones. Life. Here’s the thing about my day, it started roughly. As in, scrubby doug woke 1.5 hours early, roughly. Ah, yes. About that nickname. I have a son, his given name is Oren. ‘Round these parts he is more likely to answer to dingo, grub, doug…

So my day started at 5:30am, not seven. I promptly admitted defeat and had ice cream for breakfast, before coffee. Mint chocolate chip, for those curious minds (and not the green kind). I believe I even left a note somewhere: “6:00 am Ice Cream”. How would you respond to such a chaotic upheaval of routine?

So. A rough start. Preceded by an evening that my Michael would call “too late”. What was I doing up late? Sewing, of course. It is perhaps not irrelevant that Michael thinks 9:30pm is too late to just be crawling into bed to read. As a matter of fact, he has already turned the bedroom lamp off at 9:18pm, I haven’t even had my (evening) ice cream. Again, for those with minds that wander, I am reading The Diamond Age by Neal Stephenson.

The anticipation, I can feel you sweating it out, white knuckling it. Dying to know….What was I sewing?

These lovelies. The Quick Change Trouser from Handmade Beginnings.

IMG_3271 And since you asked. The answer is yes. Yes, they are reversible. IMG_3274 They are awaiting a baby girl who is due before the year is out. Do you know who you are?

While I was at it, I couldn’t resist tweaking the pattern a bit and sewing some shorts for Oren. Now, he is a crawling man. A bit of a crawling fool, really. And pants that cover the knees are so preferred. But. But. It was 103 degrees today. And when he tops out at maximum speeds, his feet wind up inside of his pants around the knees. So. Shorts it is.

I shortened the pattern and added a faux cuff/trim? At the bottom. IMG_3266 The geometric tulips. Who could resist? I am forever neglecting to remember that my grub needs extra pant space due to the cloth diapers. So the rise in the back is a bit low for my liking, but I swear to be mindful and more careful next time.

One more, right? You can put up with one more. Because, the elephants. A quilted pillow cover. A wedding gift for a loved one. IMG_3275

I figure that 1 out of 3 is a decent ratio for the creating; one to keep, two out the door. Share, and share alike. Whatever it is you’re good at.

Stay cool.

Author: Nicole

Hi there. My name is Nicole and I have an affinity for fiber art and home grown everything. I am a mother, seamstress, maker; so on and so forth. I'm here to share my escapades in sewing, parenting, and sometimes marriage (and infrequently, knitting). You can reach me at Nicolesheree@gmail.com. G'day.

One thought on “Coming forth.

Leave a Reply

